give feedback
alert diamond Report it!

Tourism Advisory Board

Term of Office: Three years; 3-term limit (9 years total); one-year layoff
Meeting Schedule: Quarterly | 2022 meetings 9 am, Thursdays: January 20, April 21, July 21, October 20
Responsible Staff Member:  Jennifer Eckermann

The Tourism Advisory Board was organized in 2021 to replace the Hotel Occupancy Tax Board.  The Board’s purpose and responsibility is to advise and support the Brenham/Washington County Destination Marketing Organization (DMO) and to advocate for the continued development of tourism and cultural assets.

The Board shall be composed of seven (7) voting members; all being residents of Washington County.  Five (5) members shall be appointed by the City Council and two (2) members shall be designated by the Washington County Commissioners.  The members designated by Washington County shall be (1) the Washington County Tourism Liaison; (2) a member of the Washington County Commissioners Court; or (3) the Washington County Expo Director.

Board members shall serve for staggered terms of three (3) years. Board membership shall be limited to three (3) full consecutive terms, with a minimum one (1) year absence from the Board before consideration for reappointment.  A quorum shall consist of not less than four (4) members.  The members designated by Washington County shall serve on the Board perpetually unless the bylaws for the Board are revised.

The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board shall be elected by and from the members of the Board and shall serve as said officers for a term of one (1) year.  The City Manager shall appoint a qualified City staff person to serve as the Liaison for this Board.  The Liaison shall be a non-voting, ex-officio, member of the Board and shall ensure proper posting and noticing of all Board meetings, schedule applications for Board review; provide information packets to its members prior to the meetings, record meeting minutes and facilitate Board meetings.

Board Member Nominating Entity Term Expiration
Jenny Van Dorf City 2023
William Atwood City 2023
Stacey Walters City 2024
James Pharaon City 2024
Jean Shoup City 2023
County Commissioner County Perpetually
County Expo Director County Perpetually

04/21/22   Agenda   Packet    
04/18/22   Agenda   Packet    
03/21/22   Agenda   Packet    
01/20/22   Agenda   Packet   Minutes